Recognize someone for their special contribution. Consider nominating a colleague today.

  • Nominations can be made by any ACTWS member.
  • Nominees are normally residents of Alberta or have made a significant contribution in Alberta.
  • Awards will be presented at the ACTWS conference.
  • Nominations are valid for up to 3 years.

Calls for nominations on now.  View our previous award winners .

Outreach Award

This award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated an outstanding commitment to Alberta’s fish and wildlife through effective and excellent communication to the public.

Alberta Wildlife Publication Award

These two awards recognize wildlife professionals for outstanding written contributions in:

1. technical publication (within the past 3 years)

2. popular publication (within the past 3 years)

Publications can be a book, article, or monograph but must be relevant to wildlife management and conservation.  The review committee will assess publications based on originality, impact on management and conservation science, and overall presentation.  The Alberta Chapter will announce the winning publications at the annual conference. Each award will include a plaque presented to the authors at the ACTWS conference and the winning publication(s) will be recognized in the newsletter.

Please indicate category in the nomination.

William Rowan Distinguished Service Award

The William Rowan Distinguished Service Award is presented to an Alberta wildlife biologist who has made outstanding cumulative contributions to the management and conservation of wildlife and their habitats. These contributions could involve excellence in research, teaching, public allocation (hunting, nonconsumptive use), habitat protection and development, land use planning, impact assessment, endangered species management, work in professional associations or any other area of the wildlife management profession.

The awards committee is asking for nominations from the membership for this prestigious award. A nomination involves a letter of support from a Chapter member along with the candidate’s curriculum vitae/resume. The letter should explain the value of the nominee’s contributions in the areas outlined above.

Kristina Norstrom Dedicated Service Award

Presented to an Alberta Chapter member who actively and unselfishly contributes their time and resources to further the aims and objectives of the Chapter.  This award acknowledges members whose contributions far exceed the expectations of being a member and capture the spirit and essence of dedication to the Chapter.  The awards committee asks for nominations for this award in the form of a letter of support from one or more Chapter members.

Please submit award nominations as an email including:

  • The name of the nominee
  • The name of the award
  • A justification for why they deserve the award
  • CV of the nominee

Submit nominations to Glynnis Hood:
Deadline Monday, 11 February 2019